“If the Lord wills…”

December 1, 2007

Almost every Friday I see Charlotte Duhn. She comes in to the church office to help us get the bulletins ready for Sundays, and she brings a whole lot of warmth and joy with her… I love Charlotte! : ) When she says good-bye, she gives me a hug and always says, “Lord willing, I’ll see you Sunday.” She has every intention of being there on Sunday (and being there early, and bringing her warmth and her joy with her!), she just knows that God may have other plans…

Scripture tells us to have this mindset, and to have it about absolutely everything. God knows the future, and we do not. God is on His throne ruling over everything, and we are not. Things we consider absolutely certain will only come to pass if it is God’s will… I will only finish writing this sentence if God wills it, and you will only finish reading it if He wills that you do.

James 4:13-16 says this: “Now listen, you who say, “Today or tomorrow we will go to this or that city, spend a year there, carry on business and make money.” Why, you do not even know what will happen tomorrow. What is your life? You are a mist that appears for a little while and then vanishes. Instead, you ought to say, “If it is the Lord’s will, we will live and do this or that.” As it is, you boast and brag. All such boasting is evil.”

According to James, to have a mindset of “this is going to happen” without acknowledging “only if the Lord wills” is boastful bragging. It removes God from the picture. It puts yourself in the position of all-knowing sovereign. It is evil.

It’s an easy place to find ourselves though. A very, very easy place to find ourselves…

I encourage you to acknowledge God in everything. Thank Him for every blessing. Trust His purpose in every trial. Go to Him in prayer about everything, because He rules over everything. Humbly remember that He knows and ordains the future, and make every plan with this in mind, “if the Lord wills…”   

Some of you know why this truth is on my heart. I don’t feel up to filling the rest of you in in this blog post… There’s far, far too much to say, and it must be said very clearly and very carefully…

If the Lord wills, I will fly to Oregon later today, and stay there for a week. Lord willing, I will see my mom and my sister (visiting from South Africa), my uncle and my cousin. It’s been over a year since I’ve seen my uncle and years since I’ve seen my cousin. It’s been 2 years since I’ve seen my sister, and 3 and a half years since I’ve seen my mom. Time flies… I’m looking forward to seeing them all.

Lord willing, I’ll see you next Sunday. And Lord willing, my mom will be with me! : )

~ Donovan

4 Responses to ““If the Lord wills…””

  1. Luann said

    this resonated deeply within as truth. i was convicted/reminded. thank you.

  2. […] she came out of the ordeal with only minor cuts and bruises and a headache (see my post “If the Lord wills” […]

  3. […] wrote a post about this truth a few months back (click here to see it). This truth is fresh on my mind again because of two things that happened this […]

  4. […] – To see a blog I wrote about how the truth of God’s Sovereignty should affect our lives, click here.    […]

Leave a Reply

