I’m engaged! : )

January 31, 2008

I proposed to Heather Hollingsworth on Saturday, Januray 26… She said yes! This is her description of our engagement:  

“Here’s a Reader’s Digest version of our engagement story:

Donovan arrived in Pennsylvania Saturday morning and promptly met with my dad for breakfast to ask him an important question (I wonder what?). After lunch, we decided to take a walk around Lititz, which is a cute little colonial town near Lancaster where my parents live. My siblings and parents suddenly had lots of things to do and couldn’t go along for the walk (highly suspicious).

We walked around the park in Lititz for a while and the chocolate factory and grabbed some coffee at a nearby shop. Then he wanted to throw more snowballs down my back so we went to the park again…

Now, at this point I need to take a break and tell you about a dream I had while I was in Peru, most likely induced by the Malaria pills I was having to take. 🙂 I dreamt that Herci had helped Donovan design an engagement ring with this huge yellow stone with 3 tiny little pearl-looking things in the middle and a scrunchy band. In the dream I still said yes, but I was definitely a little disappointed about this ring. I told Donovan this story when I got back.

Now we’re back to Saturday, in Lititz, at the park… Donovan got down on one knee in the snow and told me he had a gift for me and pretended like he was going to pick up another snowball to throw at me. But I was a little suspicious, especially since he was mysteriously on one knee. I said “no you’re not doing this!” He then told me that he loves me like he loves nobody else and he told me “Te Amo” for the first time (which, for those of you who don’t know, is another word for “I love you” in Spanish that is usually only used for a lover). He asked me to marry him and told me he wants to spend the rest of his life serving and worshipping God together with me… AMAZING! Of course I said YES!!

Then out came the yellow ring and I laughed so hard… It looks just like the one in my dream… The box says:
 

Herci
Designer Jewelry

“The ring of your dreams”

He put the huge-ugly ring on my finger and stood up. After playing along with it for a while he got back down on his knee and asked me if I wanted to see the real ring and I answered with a pretty blunt “Yes!” 🙂 It is a beautiful setting with 2 blue sapphires on the side of a central diamond, symbolizing us and God in the center. The inscription on the band is “MASIMDUMISENE,” which in Zulu means, “Come, let us worship Him together”. Perfect! Anyways, to say the least I’ve been smiling from ear to ear since Saturday…”

ugly-ring.jpg

 ring1.jpg 

engaged.jpg

By “worship together” I mean a life of loving, enjoying, and glorifying God in absolutely everything together, savoring and declaring His “worth” in all things… Of course that includes ministry and service, seeking to be used by the Lord as much as possible, but it also includes enjoying laughter and beauty and good food and so on together, always mindful of and thankful to Him who was creative and gracious and good in making it all and showering us with these gifts… It means keeping Him central in everything. It means seeing each other as gifts from His hand, and enjoying the Giver as we enjoy the gift…

I’m still in Pennsylvania, spending some good time with Heather’s family. It’s been a huge blessing! Heather’s very close with her parents and siblings, and they’re a really great family. It’s been rich fellowshipping with them and just being with them as they interact. Heather and I fly back on Saturday (Lord willing).

“All the days ordained for me
       were written in your book
       before one of them came to be.

 How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!
       How vast is the sum of them!

 Were I to count them,
       they would outnumber the grains of sand.
       When I awake,
       I am still with you.”

~ Psalm 139:16b-18 

“Every good and perfect gift is from above, coming down from the Father of the heavenly lights, who does not change like shifting shadows.” ~ James 1:17

~ Donovan

7 Responses to “I’m engaged! : )”

  1. Jill said

    I get to be the first one on the blog to say Congratulations!!! Yeah!! God is so awesome! Can’t wait to see you two! Jill 🙂

  2. Dalton Family said

    How fantastic! Praise God for the wonderful gifts that He provides.

    When we first shared with Laura and Brooke the great news, they was so tickled that the laughter and tears of joy filled our home.

    We so looking forward to seeing you when you all get back.

    To God be the glory!!!

  3. bekah hisayasu said

    Congratulations Donni Giovanni! I am positive that the Lord will bless you and Heather as you seek to pursue His best for your life TOGETHER. What a great refining process marriage is – and SO much fun! I look forward to hearing about many fruitful years of the South African man and his lady in ministry for the Lord they love. May God richly bless you as you enter this new chapter of your life. I’m a fan.

  4. Dennis And Sheila Potter said

    CONGRADS and May the Lord continue blessing you both, and your ministries!

  5. Christina I Brown said

    Dovovan Drew congrats man! What an awesome story! I’m really excited that you’ve found somebody to spend your life with. All the best!

  6. Tim & Maya Baker said

    We are so excited for you brother! She sounds like an amazing girl and I hope to meet her someday. It is an incredible blessing and adventure to serve the Lord together in marriage, we love it! We look forward to keeping updated on your lives and ministry together!

  7. Emra Wagener Smith said

    Congratulations! On more than your engagement. how beautiful your life for Him has become. I have tender and warm memories of you Donny.

Leave a Reply

