Speaking and receiving faithful words, so we can grow more and more into the image of Christ…

February 4, 2008

By the time this post is over, I will have linked to my brother Gunner’s blog. As you may have noticed, I link to his blog a lot… He was my RD in college and he discipled me for two years. The Lord used many hours of fellowship with this brother to sharpen me, as well as his example. What I am most thankful for, however, was his faithfulness to tell me what I needed to hear, to point out how my life could be lived better to the glory of God and the blessing of others… I told him once that no one had “wounded” me as much as he had. That doesn’t sound like a compliment, but it is. It comes from this verse: “Wounds from a friend can be trusted, but an enemy multiplies kisses.” ~Proverbs 27:6. It’s often easier to tell people what they want to hear, but it’s not loving to tell someone all is well when they’ve got half a head of lettuce stuck between their teeth! Tell them it’s there so they can do something about it!!

My desire is that we will see many such friendships developing at Bethel Grace, and that those that do exist will grow to greater depths – where we love each other enough to speak truth into each other’s lives, even when it’s really difficult, because we want more than anything to see each other living more and more like Christ… Of course this must be done carefully and graciously, but it must be done (Colossians 3:16).

We must also be careful listeners when our friends bring us correction. Proverbs 15:12 says, “A mocker resents correction; he will not consult the wise”, and Psalm 141:5 says, “Let a righteous man strike me—it is a kindness; let him rebuke me—it is oil on my head. My head will not refuse it.” We must encourage our friends to faithfully “wound” us, and we must learn as much from it as possible when they do.

Gunner’s blog, “Thoughts on Being Corrected” is very, very helpful on this subject – well worth the read. You can read it by clicking here.

May we faithfully “wound” each other in love, and may we listen with humility. May we become more and more like Christ as we do.

~ Donovan 

Leave a Reply

