How central is prayer to your life?

February 8, 2008

This is my first post to the Christocentric Blog. I am a blessed man to be part of the Bethel Grace community. While spending some time in the office I looked at some information for conferences in the area and was directed to an interesting ministry. The conference is put on by a church community from Kansas City. I looked through the website for the conference and then the church. This ministry isn’t in agreement with many of the doctrines as Bethel Grace, but I had to keep looking at their ministry. For one reason alone, this church in Kansas City was founded on prayer. I know you are thinking every church is founded on prayer. But this church is quite different. Literally, a group of people met to have a prayer vigil. That prayer meeting hasn’t stopped according to their website. Since September 19, 1999, prayer has not stopped being offered up. What started as a small meeting has turned into a church, and into an international ministry trying to stir the fire in young adults. 

I found myself admiring this ministry.  I’m not advocating for it, nor am I in a place where I think this is the way for every Christian to function. But there is something admirable about Christians dedicated to prayer. The idea of having prayer offered up 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year, is appealing. It is a realistic literal way of seeing 1 Thessalonians 5:17 in action. I like the idea of seeing Christians characterized by prayer. It is obedience in action, but more importantly it is dependence on a Holy God to act. That is beautiful. While it may not be a physical possibility to have Bethel Grace having its doors open 24 hours a day for ever believer to have a shift, I do hope that those that are members are characterized by prayer. So as the new guy on staff at Bethel Grace I hope that we are characterized by prayer and all the more as we see the Day of the Lord approaching. 

Drew Lepis

Leave a Reply

