True Greatness, part 1

February 16, 2008

The longer I walk with Christ, the more and more I realize that true greatness is found in little, every-day things – things many people would never see. I think true greatness is seen in the home as much as it is seen anywhere… Your spouse and kids see you day-in and day-out. They know if you’re consistant. They know how you respond when tired, stretched, or squeezed. They know what you put effort towards and what you neglect. They know how you die or don’t die to yourself for the sake of others in every-day life… As a result, I’m all the more encouraged when one’s spouse or children speak highly of their walk with Christ. 

I’ll probably write more on this another time. For now, with Valentine’s Day just a couple days ago, I’ll stick with a couple things I’ve heard wives say about their husbands – things that I think point to true greatness:

I was in a home last year, talking with a wife and mother. Her husband works many hours, is very involved in his church, coaches his kids sports teams, and is just just very busy all-round.  A newspaper was on the kitchen table. She pointed this comic strip out to me and said, “That’s my husband!” (Click on the strip for a larger image) 

baby_blues.gif

Beautiful, isn’t it?! It takes exemplary love and faithfulness to all God has called you to to come home after a very long and hard day and be “all there” – being purposeful about cherishing your wife, loving her and being there for her. I think consistancy in this is very rare, and I think it’s a mark of true greatness.

A friend of mine posted this under the “Heroes” section on her myspace profile:

“My husband. If you got to live with him and watch his heart lived out, he would be your hero too. God has been good to me.”

That speaks volumes, doesn’t it??

If you are in Christ, you can be such a husband! Perhaps your marriage feels like nothing more than a “mess” right now… Take hope! Our wise, loving, all-powerful God is able to make any mess beautiful! He will be faithful to complete the work He started in you (Philippians 1:6). Let’s strive to be faithful in the little things, day by day – for His glory, depending on His enabling grace…

“…work out your salvation with fear and trembling, for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.” (Philippians 2:12b-13) 

May Christ be exalted in our lives and our marriages!

~ Donovan 

Leave a Reply

