The Christian and the church…

February 16, 2008

This weekend, Jeff will finish a sermon series entitled “God’s Glory in His Church”. Our prayer is that everyone in our church will come to love the church, invest in it, and be blessed by it, as Christ has called us to.

The lyrics to a song called “The Church” by Derek Webb are spot on and a real blessing. They are saturated with Scripture references… References to lovers and being a harlot/whore are from the common biblical theme of spiritual adultery. Also look for references to communion and the cross, as well as Ephesians 5:22-33 (ie. “water” = “God’s Word”, etc). Read the lyrics as words from Christ to an individual Christian.

 

The Church
by Derek Webb 

 

i have come with one purpose
to capture for myself a bride
by my life she is lovely
by my death she’s justified

 

i have always been her husband
though many lovers she has known
so with water i will wash her
and by my word alone

 

so when you hear the sound of the water
you will know you’re not alone

 

chorus
‘cause i haven’t come for only you
but for my people to pursue
you cannot care for me with no regard for her
if you love me you will love the church

 

i have long pursued her
as a harlot and a whore
but she will feast upon me
she will drink and thirst no more

 

so when you taste my flesh and my blood
you will know you’re not alone

 

chorus
‘cause i haven’t come for only you
but for my people to pursue
you cannot care for me with no regard for her
if you love me you will love the church

 

there is none that can replace her
though there are many who will try
and though some may be her bridesmaids
they can never be my bride

 

chorus
‘cause i haven’t come for only you
but for my people to pursue
you cannot care for me with no regard for her
if you love me you will love the church
 

 

As I often say in my teaching, “it’s not about “just me and JC ” –  it’s about “y’all””. The call to be a Christian cannot be seperated from the call to be a an active member of Christ’s church, living life together with other believers, for His glory (eg. Ephesians, chapters 1-4 especially). May we walk worthy of that calling, and may God be glorified in His church!

Click these links to listen to some of our sermons addressing these topics:

“God’s Glory in His Church”

“Life Together”

Click below to see more songs from Derek Webb, from an entire album about Christ and the Church:

“She Must and Shall Go Free”

~ Donovan

Leave a Reply

