I’m thankful for how God uses people in our lives…

February 23, 2008

I stumbled upon a very dear friend’s blog tonight – I didn’t know he had one before. While he is very dear to me, I don’t see him very often – for the last 6 years it’s been months or even years between a few minutes together. He was an upper classmen at TMC when I was a freshmen, and the Lord used Him to impact my life in ways I don’t think he will ever know… I’ve tried to tell him a few times before, but some things just can’t be put into words, try as we may…

 It turns out it was his birthday recently, so I took a minute to write him, and briefly, try again:

“Happy belated birthday, brother!! I love you, miss you, and thank God for you!! I will never forget how the Lord used you in my life… I often refer to your ministry to me as an example of just how much God can use faithfulness in seemingly small things… taking (and making) the time to show love, to encourage, to talk of Christ and His worth… Keep living this way brother, and excel still more, by His grace. I trust God will continue to use you as He did in my life – to have many more people long to know Christ better and to love Him more because they see the treasure He is to you…”

Writing that got me teared up, and it’s not the first time reflecting on God’s goodness to me through this brother has had that affect on me. God is SO good to us, isn’t He?!! I’m thankful for how He works in and through people… I’m so thankful He brought this brother into my life and used him the way He did…  

Jesus truly is a treasure. May our lives tell of His surpassing worth!

~ Donovan 

Leave a Reply

