Moving to Ukraine to love on orphans…

March 25, 2008

Anika Bachle moves to Ukraine tomorrow to love, serve and tell orphans about Christ. This is the letter she just sent out to everyone on her mailing list. If you’d like to be added to her mailing list, e-mail her at anikabachle@gmail.com. I’ll be posting updates here regularly too…

Please read this letter and be praying for the specific requests she mentions:

Hey guys!

So in case you missed the memo, I’m moving to Ukraine on Wednesday! And since it’s now 1:03am on Tuesday, officially, I leave tomorrow. It still doesn’t feel real, even though I’m saying goodbyes and packing and everything. But I just wanted to let you all know what’s up with everything.

Ok, so we’re staying in a short-term rental/vacation apartment in Sumy for the first 2 or 3 weeks. In that time our main goal will be to find more permanent housing, most likely another apartment. Since we’re starting out in this short-term place, we don’t have an address right away. I’ll let you know when we get that all figured out, but for now, you’ll have to hold off on all the letters and presents for a while… But don’t you fret, you can send as much as you want once we have a real apartment. [: So no mail right away. But! There will be internet [hallelujah!] for the time we’re in that apartment! So email, myspace, facebook, all that goodness. I’m thinking/hoping we will be able to have Skype set up while we’re there too. If you don’t know what Skype is, go to skype.com, figure it out, download it and add me – anika.bachle – to your call list or friends or whatever they call them on there! We can talk for free! And if you have a video camera for your computer, we can even video-Skype each other and you can see my face all the way in Ukraine! We’ll have a phone there, but calling costs money and Skype is free. Moral of the story – get Skype.

Ok so address, internet. That’s the gist of that stuff. Oh, if you want to call me in Ukraine [which is totally ok!] this is our team cell phone number – 011-380-936-684-185. So call me! But, do keep in mind that Ukraine is 10 hours ahead of California time and I like to sleep, so maybe try not to call me in the middle of the night. [: I found a website that sells phone cards online and it’s the cheapest place I’ve found to get good rates on calling Ukraine. If you want one, let me know and I’ll send you a link! You can feel free to send texts too, texts are fun!
        
So that’s pretty much all the fun stuff. Now down to serious business. The first couple of weeks are going to be insane for our team and we need your prayers!! We are flying from here to NY on Wednesday night and we have a 12 hour layover there before we fly to Kyiv. Half our team is leaving from LA and the other half from San Fran, so we’ll be meeting there. This is going to be a crazy, emotional time for all of us and we’re probably all going to be feeling a little insane. These 12 hours together in NY will quite possibly have a lot to do with our attitudes and outlook for our first week or two in Ukraine. We will be in NY from about 4:30am to about 4:30pm on Thursday. If you can be praying specifically for our team in this time, please do so, and let me know! Some things to pray for are unity, peace, trust, guidance, and excitement for what we’re about to do.
       
We land in Kyiv at 11:25am on Friday the 28th [Ukraine time… so 2:25am on Friday morning in CA]. From there, Lord willing, a friend will pick us up from the airport and driven to our apartment in Sumy. Like I said, a huge part of our initial focus will be finding a place to live, so please keep that in your prayers! On top of that, we will be finding, reconnecting and hanging out with our kids! Woo hoo! We’ll also be trying to connect with the churches we’ve been talking to in the area, going to the Pravda orphanage, figuring out translator situations, trying to find a tutor… and adjusting to the fact that we all just moved all the way to the other side of the world where they speak a different language, eat weird food, hardly ever smile and incessantly stare at Americans. Where nothing is “normal” and there’s no such thing as Starbucks, Taco Bell, or Target, and we’re very far away from all our friends and family. Needless to say, it could be a little overwhelming. Please, please keep us in your prayers, especially for the first two weeks or so that we are there! Encouraging emails are definitely good. Just letting me know you are praying for us is a huge encouragement to me!
            
So prayer requests. On the more physical side of things: NY layover; travel; transportation from airport to apartment; translator[s]; reconnecting with kids; finding a tutor; getting to know/involved with a local church; finding an apartment. And the spiritual end of it all: courage for the task ahead; trusting God to take care of all our needs; keeping our emotions from going crazy; team unity; peace with where God has us on a day-to-day basis; clearly speaking the Gospel to these kids. “Pray also for me, that whenever I open my mouth, words may be given me so that I will fearlessly make known the mystery of the gospel… Pray that I may declare it fearlessly, as I should.” [Ephesians 6:19-20]
      
I’ll probably be blogging some on my myspace if you’re interested [myspace.com/anikajoy]. Random updates, stories, thoughts, cool things God is doing and all that goodness. You can see those without being a myspace-er yourself. Thank you so much for all your prayers and support up to this point! I cannot thank you enough for all you guys have done to help get me here! Please continue to pray and support in whatever ways you can! I’ll keep you updated as life rolls on for me in Ukraine. Love you guys!
      
His for the adventure, His for the journey
        
Anika
       
One Response to “Moving to Ukraine to love on orphans…”

  1. Jenn Smith said

    Would love to hear about your journey 🙂

Leave a Reply

