A New Creation: God’s grace in the life of Lisa Smeaton…

April 18, 2008

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; the old has gone, the new has come! 
– 2 Corinthians 5:17
        
When I try to explain to people what kind of person I used to be, it is usually received with shock and awe that the person standing before them really could have been “THAT” bad. But that’s what makes God’s grace so amazing! He can take the worst of sinners and turn their life around in such a dramatic way, a way that is so inhumanly possible,  that only God can get the glory for it! 

I was raised in a home by parents who do not know the Lord Jesus Christ as their Savior, though we were a “Christmas and Easter” family in our church attendance. However, when my sister and I stayed with our grandparents as we were growing up we attended church with them. I really enjoyed church and thought learning about Jesus was great, but my opportunities were few and far between.  Although we moved often, my home life was stable until my parents divorced when I was in the third grade. My folks tried to make it as easy as they could, but I didn’t take it well. I began to take comfort from food and also withdrawing from situations that caused me anxiety. 
            
My parents each remarried and my mother and step-father, whom my sister and I lived with, had a son when I was fifteen. We then moved from California to Utah, and there began my total decline into a life reeking of worldliness, sin and a home life that was quite turbulent. Everything I shouldn’t have been doing, I did. This led to my leaving college after two quarters on academic probation and moving back to California to live with my grandparents. I attended church while living with them, but it was short-lived.
                 

I proceeded to live a life that did not honor the Lord and was self-destructive to say the least! It wasn’t until the age of twenty five that the Lord brought me to the bottom of the pit I had created that I could see the Light that only He can give. A friend invited me to a Bible study in her home and I went. I began attending her church and getting involved with the Career class that my new Bible study friends were in. I listened to Greg Laurie on the radio and every time he asked for people to pray the sinner’s prayer, I did. It seemed like it wasn’t “sticking” because I kept on sinning. I had so many questions, but the Lord was slowly revealing them to me through my time in the Word and attending church. 

But it wasn’t until the Spring of 1993, at a retreat up in Big Bear, that the whole weight of my sin was brought to my eyes. Our Pastor was the speaker at the retreat and he spoke of allowing God into all the “rooms” of our life and giving Him Lordship over them. It was then that I realized I had been trying to do so much of my walk as a Christian in my own strength, instead of relying on Jesus. We had time afterwards to spend time alone in prayer. I sat on a hill under some trees  and poured my heart and soul out to the Lord. I confessed my sin and repented and begged Him to be the Lord of my life. At that moment a peace, that peace that passes all understanding, filled my heart with Christ Jesus. Afterwards, we went back into the Chapel for a time of worship. I took my seat as the worship team was playing the song “White as Snow”. With tears streaming down my face I sang that song with joy. 

His faithfulness in my life endures and His mercies are new every morning! I have been blessed beyond words and so thankful that in Him I am a new creation.

~Lisa Smeaton     

You can find Lisa’s blog in our Blogroll or by clicking here.

                                         

                                 

    Lisa, Wyatt, and John Smeaton,

Bethel Grace Pumpkin Patch Party, October 2007

                     

Lisa and her husband John have been a huge blessing to our church since they started coming almost 2 years ago… Their love for Christ, His Word, and His church, and their warmth and sincerity have been such an encouragement to me. I praise God for His evident work in and through them, and for bringing them to Bethel Grace!

~ Donovan  

One Response to “A New Creation: God’s grace in the life of Lisa Smeaton…”

  1. Dalton Family said

    Praise God Lisa!
    Thanks for sharing.
    God is truly amazing.

Leave a Reply

