Review of “The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian”

May 23, 2008

        
To my shame, I have not yet read the Narnia books (I know, I know – what planet have I been on? And how can I call myself a Christian?!). I enjoyed this movie, but I think others who read the book may not enjoy it as much… While Christian themes/ imagery were in the movie, I got the impression that they were probably quite toned down compared to the book (which reviews by people who read the book have confirmed). Also, from what I’ve read in reviews, there are a few plot differences between the book and the movie, and a couple characters in the movie are quite different than they were in the book. Like I said – if you are a Narnia fan, you may be disappointed. One other thing – I thought the movie was pretty violent for what was supposed to be an adaption of a book originally written for children (there’s not much “bloodiness”, but plenty of killing). That all said, I still think it’s well worth seeing.
          
I found Jeffrey Overstreet’s review of the film to be very interesting. Click here to see it.  
        
Don’t forget that we’re watching the first Narnia movie, “The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe” at Bethel Grace at 6:30 tonight! All are welcome – I hope to see you here.
           
~ Donovan
       
Leave a Reply

