Do You Remember?

July 3, 2008

I have to admit, I am preaching to myself on this one…

We come to church.  We sing some songs.  We offer a tithe.  We hear a sermon.  Hopefully through all of this we are worshipping in spirit and in truth, and we emerge from the air-conditioned building, but are we a changed people for having experienced the conviction of God’s Spirit on our hearts from the sword of His Word.  Or…do we sit in our comfort praying that the sermon will be done in time for our good Baptist fellowship-luncheon at Carl’s Jr.?  If we do intently listen and truly learn on a Sunday morning, do we remember what we learned two days later…a week…a month?  We have just finished a series on making disciples, evangelism, and I don’t want to forget it.  I want to make it a part of my life, because according to God’s Word it should be!  How seriously am I taking God’s Word to me?  How much will I let it effect my life and how I live it?  How much should I let it effect my life and how I live it?  Just something to think about…No, I’m sorry.  This isn’t just something to think about, its something to begin doing something about.

4 Responses to “Do You Remember?”

  1. bethelgrace said

    Amen! James 1:22 says to be doers of the Word, not just hearers. This text isn’t for just pastors, super-christians or the extreme. While we all suffer from not being perfect or fully living up to God’s standard, we still need to be striving to put into action His Word in our own lives – for His glory.

  2. bethelgrace said

    That was my comment – Drew – not BGBC

  3. Bobby Grow said

    Great points, Joe.

    Say hi to Jeff for me, we have some history together 🙂 .

  4. Jinger Ford said

    Well said! I know that I walk out of church on Sunday’s “Pumped up” and ready to do God’s will but usually at the end of the week I look back knowing I wasted the week away because Christ wasn’t centered or I didn’t share him the way I should have.

    What would our weeks look like if we really were effected?

    Anyway,
    Thanks for sharing Joe!

Leave a Reply

