Christmas Songs, the Best & the Worst

December 7, 2009

I love the Christmas season. Above all, I love the focus on Jesus. I also love the decorations. I love the lights. I enjoy the fact that several radio stations play Christmas music all month long. But, tuning in to these stations, there are some songs I’ve come to despise! They drive me nuts! Here are my current “Top 5” lists.  The five songs that make me cringe and turn the station.  And the five songs (among many more) that bring nostalgia and/or stir my heart with worship.

The Worst:
5. Feliz Navidad, Jose Feliciano
4. Little Saint Nick, The Beach Boys
3. Merry Christmas Baby, The Beach Boys
2. Last Christmas, Wham!
1. Wonderful Christmastime, Paul McCartney

My Favorites:
5. White Christmas, Irving Berlin
4. Carol of the Bells, Mykola Dmytrovych Leontovych
3. O Holy Night, Adolphe Adam
2. Mary Did You Know?, Mark Lowry
1. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing, Charles Wesley

Ok, there’s my best and worst list. Any objections?  Any additions?  How about yours?
~Jeff

5 Responses to “Christmas Songs, the Best & the Worst”

  1. john smeaton said

    Here are my current top 5 worst Christmas songs that make me cringe.

    5. Feliz Navidad – Jose Feliciano
    4. Grandma Got Ran Over by a Reindeer – Elmo and Patsy
    3. All I Want for Christmas is my Two Front Teeth – Spike Jones
    2. The Chipmunk Song – The Chipmunks
    1. Jingle Bells – The Singing Dogs

  2. Kathy L said

    I totally agree with your worst list. I would like to add “Joseph Song ” to your “like” list.

  3. Nice blogpost, great looking weblog, added it to my favorites.

  4. Lisa Smeaton said

    Favorite songs:
    1. Silent Night
    2. Christmas Time is Here – Vince Guaraldi Trio (From Charlie Brown Christmas)
    3. Christmas Time is Here Again – Ringo Starr
    4. Do They Know It’s Christmas? – Band Aid Tribute
    5. O Come All Ye Faithful

    Least Favorite:
    1. Grandma Got Run Over By a Reindeer
    2. All I Want for Christmas is My Two Front Teeth
    3. The Dreidel, Dreidel, Dreidel (I know, not exactly Christmas song…)

  5. jenny colston said

    One of my favorites is carol of the bells-trans syberian orchestra and one of my least favorites has got to be one by john denver, can’t think of the name.

Leave a Reply

